Oahu Chapter

2014 John Kelly Awards


The Surfrider Foundation Oahu Chapter proudly presents the official Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Kick-off party: The 12th Annual John Kelly Environmental Achievement Awards

Join us at the Waimea Valley’s Peacock Pavillion on Saturday, November 15, 2014

The Surfrider Foundation Oahu Chapter is proud to announce the 12th Annual John Kelly Environmental Achievement Awards on Saturday, November 15th, 2014 on the beautiful grounds of Waimea Valley. This year, the Oʻahu Chapter honors the mission and legacy of the Surfrider Foundation worldwide in its commitment to Preserving Sacred Places.

We will be featuring:

  • Music Performances by Streetlight Cadence and Cynth & the Whats His Faces
  • Silent auction
  • Live art for auction by renowned Pow Wow artists

Attendees will receive a complimentary annual subscription to FLUX Hawaii Magazine valued at $24.  Contact info for FLUX subscriptions will be collected at the door of event. We have prices for members and non-members in the drop down box below. If you are not a current member (must renew each year) please use the “Join Surfrider” link on this page to do so. We will be checking our membership lists at the door when you check in. Thank you so much for your support – all ticket sales, memberships, and donations go to helping Surfrider Oahu continue its mission of protecting our amazing coastal resources and beaches. Aloha!




Click here to join Surfrider

powwowhi_logo_v2     triple      typography      Waimea-Valley-Hi`ipaka-Logo

Surfrider Oahu’s John Kelly Environmental Achievement Awards recognize those who have made the greatest contributions towards protecting or enhancing our coastal community and environment. John Kelly, for whom the award is named, was the original recipient of the Lifetime Achievement category. For decades, Kelly led many environmental crusades on O‘ahu. The John Kelly Perpetual Trophy is a small koa surfboard, beautifully shaped as a board from the early days of Waikiki, when the water and the sand were clean, there were no groins or jetties, and there was plenty of beach access. Sadly, John Kelly passed away in 2007, but through this annual event he will be remembered and honored by the Surfrider Foundation.
Held each year in honor of John Kelly, the Awards Ceremony honors those individuals and organizations that have followed in his footsteps and continued his legacy of environmental leadership. Below is a list of previous winners, all of whom are invited to attend the event:

Previous Winners

Lifetime Achievement

Hawaii-Based Company

Professional Surfer

 2013  Denise Antolini

The Black Cat Salon

 Crystal Thornberg-Homcy


Charles Moore

Mu`umu`u Heaven

Torrey Meister


Cora Sanchez

Kona Brewing Company

Kyle Thiermann


Mark Cunningham

Honolulu Weekly

Duane DeSoto


Yvon Chouinard

Bill Braden

The Malloy Brothers


Shaun Tomson


Dave Rastovich


Randy Rarick

Pacific Biodiesel

James Pribram


Peter Cole

Schnitzer Steel Hawaii

Pancho Sullivan


Larry McElheny

Brushfire Records

Rochelle Ballard


George Downing


Kelly Slater


John Kelly

Patagonia – Haleiwa

Rob Machado


John Kelly Award